Australian Marine Parks

The North-west Marine Parks Advisory Committee promotes the involvement, engagement and collaboration of marine park users, stakeholders and the community in the management of the 13 marine parks in the region.

The Committee brings together a wealth of knowledge and expertise across a range of topics relevant to marine park management, including tourism, fishing, sea country, marine transport, science, conservation, governance, communications and engagement.

Committee members will work with Parks Australia staff to shape the management of Australian Marine Parks, providing advice on marine issues at a regional level and strengthening our understanding of park user interests and issues.

This collaborative approach to management is critical to achieving our vision of healthy, resilient and well-managed marine parks that deliver benefits for all Australians.

There will be a minimum of two meetings per year. The next meeting is planned for mid-2023.


Committee Members are appointed for a two year term. The current members are:

Andrew Coleman

Andrew Coleman (Chair)

Andrew is the Director of the Marine Parks Management West Section in the Marine and Island Parks Branch of Parks Australia. He oversees management of the North-west and South-west Marine Park Networks which include 27 Australian Marine Parks that lie in Commonwealth waters off Western Australia and South Australia.

Andrew’s specialist area is economics and ocean management with post graduate research focused in the area of population modelling of marine species and sustainable yields. He has worked with the Federal Government for more than 20 years across a range of Departments including the Productivity Commission and the National Oceans Office, which was responsible for the development of Australia’s Oceans Policy.

As an experienced Director in Parks Australia, Andrew’s background includes marine protected area design and management, marine policy development and the design and delivery of structural adjustment assistance schemes as they relate to marine parks.

Peter Coote

Peter Coote

Peter currently owns and operates a game fishing boat and has spent over 40 years operating boats in State and Commonwealth waters along the Western Australian coastline.

Peter has previously participated in fishing advisory groups and is currently the Honorary Secretary for the Western Australian Game Fishing Club and Game Fishing Association of Australia. He is also a life member and current President of the Perth Game Fishing Club and is responsible for the Rottnest Trench FAD program.

His technical and commercial experience in the petroleum industry adds to his perspective on marine issues.

A long-time traveller to the North-west and Kimberley coasts, Peter is passionate about the north-west marine environment.

Tony Evans

Tony Evans

Tony has extensive board and committee experience and is currently a member of the Ningaloo Coast World Heritage Advisory Committee, a board member of the National Offshore Petroleum Safety and Environmental Management Authority, and the President of the Royal Automobile Club of Western Australia.

Tony also brings strong governance skills to the advisory committee, with executive management experience in a number of sectors including resources, education, property, government and not-for-profit.

Michelle Howard

Michelle Howard

Michelle is the co-owner of a fishing and boat charter business and has 20 years’ experience in the marine tourism industry. She operates eco-charter and live-aboard fishing charters off the coast of Western Australia.

Michelle has significant local knowledge of the Australian Marine Parks along the west coast and is the Secretary and Treasurer of Marine Tourism WA.

Michelle has extensive experience operating a small business and has a strong cross-jurisdictional understanding of compliance and authorisation requirements.

Keld Knudsen

Keld Knudsen

Keld is a Government Affairs Advisor for Santos Limited, one of Australia’s largest oil and gas producers. Prior to joining Santos in March 2021, Keld was a Director with the Australian Petroleum Production & Exploration Association (APPEA) where he represented the oil and gas exploration, development and production industry in Australia. Keld also has experience as a Federal Government regulator of offshore petroleum and minerals titles.

Keld is an experienced policy, communications and government relations professional with an in-depth understanding of the Australian petroleum industry, exploration, energy markets and related policy issues. He has extensive experience in marine policy, offshore resource development and industry-led marine research. Keld is committed to upholding the vision of protecting our unique marine environment, while acknowledging and supporting coastal communities and marine industries around the country.

Dean Mathews

Dean Mathews

Dean is a Yawuru Traditional Owner, senior member of the Yawuru Land and Sea Team and co- chair of the Kimberley Indigenous Saltwater Advisory Group.

Dean has extensive knowledge and experience in saltwater country management, joint management and Indigenous science initiatives. His depth of cultural knowledge comes from a strong traditional connection to Yawuru saltwater country.

As a Director of the Australian Indigenous Governance Institute and Yawuru Prescribed Body Corporate,he also brings strong board and committee experience that will be very valuable for the advisory committee.

Sean McNeair

Sean McNeair

Sean McNeair is a Malgana man and is the current Offshore Operations Manager for indigenous owned and operated wild Sea Cucumber harvesting business “TIDAL MOON Pty Ltd” on Western Australia’s Coral Coast , which works closely with Dept of Fisheries WA (DPIRD), Indigenous people and the Sea country of Guthaaguda (Shark Bay), including other extended coastal communities.

Kellie Pendoley

Kellie Pendoley

Kellie is a highly committed marine scientist who specialises in marine turtle biology and ecology, and artificial light at night (ALAN) monitoring and measurement.

She currently works as a private environmental consultant and has over 30 years practical experience working in the north-west region of Western Australia with industry, regulators, nongovernment organisations and government clients.

She is very familiar with the West Australian north-west marine environment and the marine industries that operate there. Kellie also brings more than 20 years’ involvement with state, national and international boards and committees.

Mat Vanderklift

Mat Vanderklift

Mat currently works for the CSIRO as a marine ecologist and leads the Ningaloo Outlook project which is providing science to inform management of the Ningaloo Coast World Heritage Area.

His research activities span tropical and temperate ecosystems across Australia and internationally: a key research focus for Mat is translating his findings into management advice and community capacity building.

Mat will bring strong expertise on the blue economy, blue carbon, and the ecology of coral reefs, seagrasses and seaweeds.

Mat also works with indigenous ranger groups in the Kimberley to inform management of Indigenous Protected Areas.

Learn more about what’s being discussed at committee meetings and related content.

Meeting Communiques

After every meeting, we’ll summarise discussion topics and important points in a meeting communique.

Get in touch

Would you like to know more about the North-west Marine Parks Advisory Committee?

Are you interested in presenting at a meeting, providing information about a relevant issue, event or project, or contacting a member?

For all these inquiries and more, please email the Committee Secretariat.