Australian Marine Parks

Australian Marine Parks support people’s livelihoods and the Australian lifestyle.

The Australian, state and territory governments have established marine parks around the country, covering 3.3 million square kilometres or 36 per cent of our oceans.

Where are Australian Marine Parks?

Within Commonwealth waters – those over 5.5km from the coast – the Australian Government has established 60 marine parks, including the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park.

How do we manage marine parks?

Parks Australia manages 58 marine parks. On 21 July 2017, we released draft management plans for 44 of these parks.

These plans set out our proposed approach to managing parks in four networks (the North, North-west, South-west and Temperate East networks) and the Coral Sea.

The South-east network has had a management plan in place since 2013 and is running effectively.

The Great Barrier Reef marine park is managed by the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority and the Heard Island and McDonald Islands marine park is managed by the Australian Antarctic Division.