Australian Marine Parks

Click on the map below to navigate the South-west Marine Parks Network.

There are five Australian Marine Parks off the coast of South Australia and nine off the coast of south-west Western Australia that make up the South-west Network.

These marine parks cover 508,371 square kilometres and include habitats such as:

  • deep abyssal plains
  • underwater plateaus
  • mountain chains
  • submarine canyons, including Australia’s largest underwater canyon, the Perth Canyon.

Particular hotspots for biodiversity are the unique mix of temperate and tropical marine species that inhabit the waters of the Houtman Abrolhos Islands, Recherche Archipelago and the world’s richest known temperate soft sediment communities in the Great Australian Bight.

Endangered southern right whales migrate through the region to coastal waters off South Australia and Western Australia.

Playful colonies of Australia’s famous sea lions live here alongside blue whales, humpback whales and seabirds.

It’s no wonder the south-west is known for its fishing, snorkelling, diving and boating.

Marine parks in the South-west Network

South-west Marine Parks Network Management Plan

A management plan for the South-west Marine Parks Network came into operation on 1 July 2018. See the:

South-west Advisory Committee

Expressions of interest are now being sought for members of the South-west Marine Parks Advisory Committee.

Parks Australia would like to from anyone who is interested in taking an active role in shaping the management of the South-west Marine Parks Network.

As a member, you will draw on your experience and expertise to guide and advise on the implementation of management programs and actions undertaken in South-west marine parks.

Parks Australia is particularly interested in hearing from people with knowledge about marine parks or experience relevant to marine park management, including:

  • tourism and fishing
  • sea country values
  • science and research
  • communication and education.

To find out more about the role, download your application pack. Alternatively you can request an application pack by emailing or calling 1800 069 352.

Applications are due by 5.00 pm, 31 August 2018.