Australian Marine Parks

Click on the map below to navigate the South-east Marine Parks Network.

South-east Marine Parks Network Management Plan review

The current 2013 South-east Commonwealth Marine Reserves Network Management Plan expired on 30 June 2023. Parks Australia is preparing a new management plan for the South-east Network. 

The first public comment period on the notice of intent to prepare a new management plan has now closed. 

Comments received during this first public consultation period will inform development of a new draft Management Plan. This draft Management Plan will be subject to a second period of public consultation.  

Read published submissions.

Management arrangements for the South-east Marine Parks Network

The South-east Network will be managed under transitional arrangements until a new management plan is finalised.

Evaluation of the South-east Commonwealth Marine Reserves Network Management Plan 2013-2023 

Parks Australia engaged consulting firm Sustineo to evaluate our implementation of the South-east Commonwealth Marine Reserves Network Management Plan 2013-23. The evaluation was independent, broad in scope and included a technical audit. The evaluation assessed the first 8 years of implementing the South-east Management Plan, noting that the current plan expires on 30 June 2023. This is the first evaluation for any of the Australian Marine Park management plans. See the Director of National Parks response to the report here.  

Resources to support the review: 

The current South-east Network 

There are 14 Australian Marine Parks off the coast of Victoria, South Australia and Tasmania, covering 702,033 square kilometres. Together they make up the South-east Network. 

In these parks off Australia’s South-east coast, migratory whales journey to and from Antarctica twice a year, providing one of the best opportunities to spot these popular marine mammals. 

Iconic species such as southern bluefin tuna and blue whales roam here. 

In the deep sea, there’s a diverse range of fishes and other creatures, such as crabs, coral, sea urchins and sponges that have bizarre and fascinating adaptations to survive in their deep, dark homes. 

Regional Engagement

The implementation of the South-east Marine Parks Network Management Plan is supported by the South-east Marine Parks Advisory Committee.